Imagen Foundation to Acknowledge Contributions for Excellence in Latino Entertainment in
18 Categories on Thursday, August 21 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel

Universal City, CA – July 18, 2008 – At the 23rd Annual Imagen Awards on Thursday, August 21 at 7 PM in Beverly Hills, The Imagen Foundation will bestow the Lifetime Achievement Award to actor Tony Plana; the Creative Achievement Award to HBO’s In Treatment Producer/Director Rodrigo Garcia; and the Norman Lear Writer’s Award to Ligiah Villalobos, executive producer and writer of the feature film La Misma Luna. LATV’s Pili Montilla of En la Zona and Humberto Guida of Wáchale hosted today’s announcement of the 2008 nominees at the Hilton Hotel in Universal City, California.

“I am consistently amazed with the exponential growth in both the quantity and quality of the entries we receive each year,” stated Helen Hernandez, Founder of The Imagen Foundation and creator of the pioneering Imagen Awards, which annually draws A-list stars and luminaries from the world of Latino entertainment. “The increase of Latino representation across entertainment disciplines is truly indicative of the prevalent role we play in Hollywood, mainstream America, and throughout the world.”

The press conference presenters from LATV, the nation’s first bilingual entertainment/music network distributed via digital multicast, also unveiled their plans to air a one-hour special on their channel featuring the Red Carpet arrival and behind-the-scenes exclusives of nominated Latinos at the 23rd Annual Imagen Awards.

A partial list of the 2008 event sponsors includes, The Nielsen Company (presenting sponsor), CBS, Inc., The Walt Disney Company, Entravision, The Hollywood Reporter, and Variety.

The complete list of the 2008 nominees across all 18 Imagen Foundation categories include:

Best On-Air Advertising
Artist Speaking Tr3s', AB Quintanilla y Los Kumbia All Stars, MTV3
Civic es Civic, La Agencia de Orci & Asociados
Descubre and Download, Colby O’Donis, MTV
Descubre and Download, Malverde, MTV
Tu Pride, Silvestre, MTV
Tu Pride, Elan, MTV
Tu Pride, Ruben, MTV
Vivelo Aqui Campaign, HBO

Best Local Informational Programming
Ninos Inmigrantes Llegan a La Escuela, Univision 23
Fox 11 News, Alter the Melee, Producer, Pete Noyes
Vista L.A.: ABC7
Best National Informational Programming
Beyond Borders: an MTV Tr3’s Immigration Forum, MTV Networks
Hispanics Today, Producers Erica Ortiz & Don Kaiser
LatinEyes: Executive Producer, Andres Pruna
Maria Hinojosa One-on-One with Tony Plana, Producer, La Plaza-WGBH
Nick News with Linda Ellerbee, I’m American, you’re not, Nickelodeon, Nickelodeon Network

Best Theatrical Short or Student Film
Below the Fold, The Pulitzer that Defined Latino Journalism, Produced and Directed by Roberto Gudino and Olga Briseno
Nina Quebrada, Produced by Diana Romero and Directed by Jen Kleiner
A Day at the Theatre: Produced by Karla Ojeda and Directed by Kenneth Castillo
Proof of Birth, Produced by Sergei Krasikav, Directed by Jose Luis Orbegozo
Suripanta, Produced by David Rodriguez and Edward Cohen, Directed by David Rodriguez Estrada

Best Documentary for Television
Borinqueneers (The) El Pozo Productions
Brown is the New Green, Producer & Director, Phillip Rodriguez
Made in L.A.,Producer and Director, Robert Bahar and Almudena Carracedo
Orozco: Man of Fire, Producer and Director, Laurie Coyle and Rick Tejada Flores
Recycled Life, Iwerks-Glad Production
Toxic City: This is Where I Live, Producer & Director, Nori Takei

Best Children’s Programming
Dora the Explorer, Nickelodeon; Nickelodeon Network
El Tigre, The Adventures of Manny Rivera, Nickelodeon, Nickelodeon Network
Go, Diego, Go, Nickelodeon; Nickelodeon Network
Handy Manny, Disney Channel
Maya and Miguel, PBS
Best Variety or Reality Show
Ceasar and Chuy, LATV Networks
Dog Whisperer with Cesar Millan, National Geographic Channel
Dancing with the Stars, ABC
Mi TRL Awards, MTV Networks
Step It Up & Dance, Bravo
Randy Jackson Presents, America’s Best Dance Crew, MTV
Vivo Presents, Juanes, Producer, Shari Scorca

Best Supporting Actress – Film
Danielle Polanco, Missy, Step Up 2 The Streets, Producer, Patrick Wachsberger & Erik Feig, Director, Jon M. Chu
Leonor Varela, Where God Left His Shoes, Written and Directed, Salvatore Stabile
Roselyn Sanchez, Game Plan, Producers Gordon Gray & mark Ciardi, Director, Andy Fickman
Best Supporting Actor – Film
David Castro, Where God Left His Shoes, Written and Directed by Salvatore Stabile
Eugenio Derbez, La Misma Luna, Producer/Director, Patricia Rigen
Jacob Vargas, Sleep Dealer, Producer, Anthony Bregman
Tego Calderon, Illegal Tender, Producer, John Singleton

Best Actress - Film
Giovanna Mezzogiorno, Love in the Time of Cholera, Directed by Mike Newell, Stone Village Pictures
Kate Del Castillo, La Misma Luna: Directed by Patricia Riggen, Fox Searchlight Pictures
Wanda de Jesus, Illegal Tender: Directed by Franc Reyes, New Deal Productions
Yvette Yates, Nina Quebrada: Directed by Jen Kleiner, The Collective

Best Actor - Film
Adrian Alonso, La Misma Luna: Directed by Patricia Riggen, Fox Searchlight Pictures
Javier Bardem, Love in the Time of Cholera Directed by Mike Newell, Stone Village Pictures
John Leguizamo, Where God Left His Shoes: Directed by Salvtore Stabile, Vulcan Productions
Rick Gonzalez, Illegal Tender: Directed by Franc Reyes, New Deal Productions

Best Director
Kenny Ortega, High School Musical 2, Disney Channel
Mike Newell, Love in the Time of Cholera, Stone Village Pictures
Patricia Riggen, La Misma Luna, Fox Searchlight Pictures

Best Picture
Alondra Smiles: Directed by Concha Nora Villa, Villa Media Productions
La Misma Luna: Directed by Patricia Riggen, Fox Searchlight Pictures
Love in the Time of Cholera: Directed by Mike Newell, Stone Village Pictures
Where God Left His Shoes, Directed by Salvatore Stabile, Vulcan Productions
Best Supporting Actress – Television
Cote de Pablo, NCIS: CBS, Belisarius Productions, Paramount Television
Eva La Rue, Miami CSI, CBS Television, CBS Productions
Maria Canals Barrera, Wizards of Waverly Place, Disney Channel, It’s a Laugh Productions
Ana Ortiz, Ugly Betty
ABC and Touchstone Television
Dana Ramirez, Heros NBC

Best Supporting Actor - Television
Danny Pino, Cold Case, CBS/Paramount Network Television
Esai Morales, Jericho, CBS/Paramount Network Television
Jorge Garcia, Lost,
ABC, American Broadcasting Company
Shalim Ortiz, Heros, NBC,
Tony Plana, Ugly Betty
ABC and Touchstone Television

Best Actress - Television
America Ferrera, Ugly Betty, ABC and Touchstone Television
Christina Milian, Snowglobe, ABC and Disney Channel
Kathleen Herles, Dora the Explorer, Nickelodeon Network, Nickelodeon Studios
Selma Gomez, Wizards of Waverly Place, Disney Channel, It’s a Laugh Production

Best Actor - Television

Carlos Mencia, Mind of Mencia, Comedy Central
Edward James Olmos, Battle Star Galactica, The Sci-Fi Channel
James Roday, Psych CBS
Wilmer Valderamma, Handy Manny (animation), Disney Channel

Best Primetime Series
ER: NBC and Warner Bros. Television
Grey’s Anatomy, ABC, Mark Gordon Company
Lost, ABC, ABC Studios
Scrubs, ABC, Dozer Productions
Ugly Betty, ABC, Touchstone Television

The Imagen Foundation works to enhance opportunities for Latinos in front of and behind the camera. Based in the Los Angeles area, the Imagen Foundation serves as a liaison between the industry and the Hispanic community by providing access, education and resources. Additional information regarding the Imagen Foundation, its awards program and annual job fair in January is available at www.imagen.org or by calling 626/ 836-6300.